Postcard from Hispaniola

Port-au-Prince

(150 words)

Hello Darling, Well they were right when they said the recipe for a great marriage is to live in different countries! Missing you and ‘the babe’ though. Looking forward to our ‘meeting’ in the Autumn! As the pic shows, I’m in Port-au-Prince. Splashed out on a Caribbean Cruise, don’t be cross! Someone said, ‘You can live to be a hundred, if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred!’ At this rate I’ll be dead at sixty! Still, my heart is true to you, never fear! Trust it’s still the same with you? Haiti’s crazy, a place where a black cat at a crossroads stops everyone, but a red light doesn’t! How are the shows going, you don’t phone or message me. All that practice that used to drive me nuts finally paid off. You show ‘em girl! Tarquin xxxx





Don’t forget to check out some of the other stories on my blog. There are over 150! 

 –

If you are interested in joining a fortnightly 300 word story group please contact me and I’ll send details.

Also, I’m very pleased to announce that ‘the best of my blog,’ To Cut a Short Story Short: 111 Little Stories, and a short story, Bound in Morocco, are now both available as paperbacks and Kindle eBooks. Please see Shop in the menu above for full details.

8 thoughts on “Postcard from Hispaniola

    • Simon J Wood says:

      Yes, I’m fairly sure that was a quote I remembered from Stuart Wilde, with whom I was doing a fire-walking course (!) about 25 years ago!

      I agree it sounds like a recipe for a successful long-term relationship!

      Liked by 1 person

If you'd like to comment, don't be shy!

