Teeth Can Wait

_8jb7739-jpg_sia_jpg_background_image
(500 words) [original publication date 25th March 2016]

My umbrella is up, but cold, angry drops somehow find their way down my neck. A white minibus trundles into view and I signal, feeling rain on my hand. The bus pulls over. It’s Lilly, my favourite driver.
“Hello Julie, how’re you?” she says, smoker’s teeth smiling below a dyed red mop.
“I’m good thanks,” I say, although I hate the expression.
“They’re cutting the buses, did you know?”
Actually I’ve heard little else recently, especially on local radio. “Yes, terrible isn’t it,” I say, predictably.
“We’re really worried about our jobs. If they’re cutting timetables there might be redundancies.”

“You’ll be OK Lilly, everyone likes you. They won’t let you go,” although I know that probably isn’t true. She’s a talkative soul but I just want to sit down and lose my wet umbrella. The bus is empty save for an old lady known locally as ‘The Witch’. Long, white, greasy hair falls over a wrinkled face. I feel reluctant to sit anywhere near her but she beckons me.

“Hello, it’s Julie isn’t it?” she says in a surprisingly educated-sounding voice. I realise we’ve never spoken before.
The bus rattles along anonymous narrow roads, bordered by high hedges, jostling us around. She starts on her life story, a long tale of universities, qualifications and academics. I soon lose concentration but am jolted out of my reverie with, “so you’ll take it to him then?”
“Sorry, who was that again?”
“Graham, my son, he works in a research laboratory in Lincoln university, I’ve just been talking about him!”
“Oh yes, of course,” I say, instantly regretting it.
Twisted, arthritic fingers hand me a sealed envelope and I feel a sudden remorse. I smile. “I can drop it round tomorrow.”
The next day I’m wandering around endless corridors, feeling like an imposter. I’d told a security guard that I had a message for ‘Graham’. “Oh, Professor Harrison you mean,” he’d said, smiling knowingly. He’d waved me through, presumably considering me no threat to the establishment.
Finally, I reach the right department and press a buzzer. A white-coated man, wearing gold-rimmed glasses, comes to the door.
“Sorry to bother you, I’ve an envelope for Professor Harrison.”
Seeing my embarrassment, he smiles pleasantly. “That’s me. I don’t know why she can’t put it in the post like anyone else but she’s a bit..well, you know…” His eyes roll. Opening the envelope, he unfolds a sheet of minuscule writing and strange symbols.
“What is it?” I say, surprised at my boldness.
“Oh, pharmaceutical stuff; she says it’ll revolutionize production of an anti-cancer drug.”
“Will it,” I ask, hopefully.
His eyes run down it again. “Maybe. Anyway, thanks, I really appreciate you bringing it. By the way, have you had lunch?“
“Oh, I’ve a dental appointment, I must go.”
“We could go to Shakespeare’s round the corner, it’s first class.” He smiles again and I notice he is quite handsome.
I laugh. “Well, I guess the drilling could be postponed!”
Don’t forget to check out some of the other stories on my blog. There are over 100! 
If you'd like to comment, don't be shy!

